Black Joy

TLS.
2 min readJun 11, 2020

There is Joy, At Last

I woke up this morning smiling.

Laughing even.

It changed my entire mindset starting the day.

Wow, I’m alive and there is a new morning.

A new sun.

A new breath to take.

It was so refreshing I had to laugh at myself again.

I blame it on the dream.

As silly as it may seem,

It awakened the child in me.

It allowed me some freedom.

It required some adjustment.

A change from my sulky mood

A renewed energy to take on the day as it comes.

A slight curve of the mouth.

Inching towards the sky.

I can breathe now.

June 7, 2020 | Assateague Island

A Time to Breathe

A time to rest

A time to cry

A time to turn up

A time to try

A time to resist

A time to show up

A time to uplift

A time to po up

Joy is resistance

--

--

TLS.

A 20-something on the journey to self-discovery, enlightenment, and a brilliant livelihood. I enjoy writing about being Black, womanhood, and marketing.