How to get a Design Internship Without Experience- Tips that got me interviews from Microsoft and Amazon

Tiffany Eaton
7 min readNov 3, 2016

Finding a design internship as a college sophomore was frustrating, to say the least. You don’t have too much experience unless you spend your time going to hackathons and design events, but I didn’t even know where I stood as a designer (What skills could I contribute as a designer? Strengths and weaknesses?). To put it simply, I was still developing my skills and had no idea how to market myself to companies who are looking for talented individuals.

Me trying to find an internship as a sophomore

Despite this thought, I still wanted to get an internship even though I had a lot of time till my junior year, where getting an internship is crucial to graduate. But let’s be honest; what better way to improve as a designer than to work with real people on real projects that have an impact on the world and for the users we design for?

Of course this isn’t always the case. Companies typically look for juniors and seniors with refined portfolio work, have a more…

--

--