Tiff Willson
2 min readDec 20, 2017

Hi I am Tiff Willson a startup entrepreneur based in San Francisco.

Why write on Medium?

I got into the practice of writing when I started Roomhints. My co-founder and I found it the most effective way to communicate to each other. We would write 4000+ word emails back to one another, succinctly thought out, clarifying our concerns with the startup. From writing these emails, I saw that writing allowed for us to be honest with one another and helped to clearly understand my thoughts and state my point.

Over the years people have asked me about my journey, been curious as to what I do everyday and been inspired. I have been meaning to start a blog to get my story/voice/thoughts into the universe, to inspire others and to connect with like minded individuals. But each time I started, I basically came up with an excuse that prevented me from starting a blog. I need a plan for the articles and/or a better looking personal site etc. etc.

The Catalyst

So, this was the catalyst to get my writing off the ground. Aurora, my friend and co-founder of Megacool and I have challenged each other. For the next 7 days we will write 1 article per day, send to each other for feedback, publish the next day. If we fail we have to run the San Francisco Half Marathon or donate $250 to a Trump organization. If we succeed we buy each other new workout gear. (Such a San Francisco style gift!)

As Sol Lewitt writes:

“Learn to say “Fuck You” to the world once in a while. You have every right to. Just stop thinking, worrying, looking over your shoulder, wondering, doubting, fearing, hurting, hoping for some easy way out, struggling, grasping, confusing, itching, scratching, mumbling, bumbling, grumbling, humbling, stumbling, numbling, rambling, gambling, tumbling, scumbling, scrambling, hitching, hatching, bitching, moaning, groaning, honing, boning, horse-shitting, hair-splitting, nit-picking, piss-trickling, nose sticking, ass-gouging, eyeball-poking, finger-pointing, alleyway-sneaking, long waiting, small stepping, evil-eyeing, back-scratching, searching, perching, besmirching, grinding, grinding, grinding away at yourself.

Stop it and just

DO”

Here is my attempt to DO. The beginning of my blog, A Big Life. A place where I will share honest stories of what I have learned during my startup journey, my thoughts, interviews and more. Please feel free to leave comments. I would absolutely love feedback, to meet new friends, be inspired and maybe inspire others by my story.

“I have always been driven to see what really happens when I throw myself at something. Unless you really do that you will never find out. I think I would be sad if I never found that out — If I don’t I would not know my potential is.” Jimmy Chin.

*** If there is something that you have always wanted to start, write it in the comments and we will find a catalyst to help keep you accountable to your goal.