Students’ Stories of Shri Kali Ashram

Tiki Wen
5 min readSep 21, 2020

Traditional Tantra Course

Click here to see this online course starting in Nov. 2020

Understanding Traditional Tantra With a Śaiva Āgama Master

Students’ Stories

Torsten Beck
A nuclear physicist from Germany

I left Vienna in 2012. I was unhappy. I had a well-paying job and success but that was not happiness. Nothing made sense. Everything felt ridiculous.

I came to find solutions, answers.I had studied a lot of science up until PhD level but it was always missing something. It always felt like I was on one side of the coin. Here at Shri Kali, I found a beautiful system that gives me the spiritual part of life. This part is not explained in modern western science, even if you study biology or chemistry or even if you go to a psychologist.

There is not one part of the system that I love more, it all works together. I love the āsanas. They bring your body and your skeleton back to health in a very nice way over time. They also balance your inner health. You drop your issues and all your ‘funny programming’ that you get from your parents, neighbors, TV and so on so that you can find your inner core and your true self. The philosophy gives you true information and a foundation to base your life on so that you can walk through your life with an understanding. The mantras and puja work to bring you deeper and deeper into your true self so that you can express from a place of honesty with yourself and everyone else.

Mikael Kjærsgaard Møller
A martial artist from Denmark

I have for several years been practicing, studying and looking into different kinds of yoga, meditation and tantra, but there has until now always been something missing.

I am like many other people often competitive — especially as I have been a competitive martial artist for many years. This competitiveness has often controlled me and taken over, so I constantly had to be the best, constantly comparing myself to others, and being dependent on recognition from someone else. I have been aware of this for many years and have worked on it a lot to let it go, as I saw that the feeling of being good enough would never be solid, if it had to come from the outside.

One of the many things I really appreciate is that the practice and philosophy encourages grounding and balance. It in no way encourages you to escape from this reality or from this world and does not encourage you to isolate yourself — on the contrary. It is very much about living your life to the fullest — but in this reality.

During my stay, I have started to get a completely new way of looking at myself, other people and the world. For me it is amazing how the practices and the studying of the texts complement each other, and the effects this has. It has been amazing to learn about the traditional texts and understandings of myself, other beings and the universe from someone that has this unique knowledge. To go deep into the philosophy, but with a focus on integration has been an eye opener for me.

Gabriela Morath
A psychiatrist and psychotherapist from Switzerland

I am a trained psychiatrist, integrative body psychotherapist and reconnective healing practitioner in Switzerland.

Since many years i practice on and off different styles of Yoga including Asthanga Yoga. Following my longing for a deeper relaxation, embodiment and inner connection to my essence through the body I found and choosed Shri Kali Ashram for a stay and Yoga teacher training.

After having Seen the Homepage and got a taste of the meditative approach by watching the Short Film I was convinced it was a place to go for me. And. . . I found what i was Looking for!

I enjoyed many things: the beautiful location in the nature, the gentle Start in the day with the Siddhi Massage, the meditative and highly effective Yoga asana Serie, the gentleness of the teaching. For me it was a experience of learning which was opposite to my conditioning and my previous experiences: progression happens through being and letting go of tensions and not through pushing and being hard with oneself. Mentally I knew this before but the cellular experience I got here in my prestigious time in the Ashram.

I feel this approach is a helpful way for individuals of our mental western culture. I hope this Ashram continues to be a place for reconnection with the essence and healing in the Future for many others!

Lilia Ayiapetyan,
Russia

When I met Bhagavan, I was 26 or 27 years old and I had a one-year-old child. I was mostly at home alone with a small baby and I had only been in Goa for a year.

At that time yoga and meditation were separate from one another for me. Before that, I was practicing kuṇḍalinī yoga as taught by Yogi Bhajan. We didn’t have much choice in Russia at that time. There was Hatha yoga also but to tell you the truth, I was a very dynamic character and so I found it a little bit boring. Once I had an experience with kuṇḍalinī yoga, I thought I had found my path. Now I understand that instead of calming me down, this type of yoga made me more exaggerated and more emotional.

I had visited a few New Age Tantric workshops in Russia and it was always some practice in couples like couple meditation. When I started to do the Tri-doṣa āsana series of Shri Kali, I knew this was true classical Tantra. After our first session of Tri-doṣa, I understood this was about meditation.

After a year and a half, I started to be interested in philosophy. I started to read about quantum physics and I began reading all the modern texts that Bhagavan suggested. Philosophy gives me strength and it clarifies my thoughts and my brain. One of the things about Tantra is that without any imagination, you just see clearly. When you feel confident, are practicing āsana for a while and all of your thoughts are going in the right direction, then the rest follows.

Traditional Tantra Course

Click here to see this online course starting in Nov. 2020

Understanding Traditional Tantra With a Śaiva Āgama Master

Copyright to Shri Kali Ashram

www.shrikaliashram.org

Shri Kali Tantra & Yoga

--

--