Stop Asking These 5 Questions

It’s not helping anyone.

Emma Tilbury
3 min readMar 3, 2024
Photo of me for a dance film, taken by William Romain.

What’s your 5 year plan?

I don’t get this one because what are you trying to gain from asking me? Questions like this are the reason why so many people are stressed about not knowing what their future holds.

Yes, there are things I would like to achieve in the next 5 years but I don’t exactly have a plan. And so, what?

Usually my answer is vague and I say I hope to graduate university with my degree and go out to find my dream job, but I don’t go into much more detail than that. In other words, I have no idea so please stop asking.

What’s your backup plan?

As someone hoping to go into a performing arts career, this one is extremely irritating. Don’t you think I’m aware of the risk I’m taking moving down South to try and get into the West End? Don’t you think I know how hard it is to make it as a dancer?

I’m not thinking about a backup plan because I’m not preparing to fail. Call me delusional, but I’m going to aim my ambitions high and hopefully some success will come my way.

If you’re worrying that I’m not thinking realistically; don’t. There is always a voice in my head asking me what if you fail? so I don’t need you saying it, too.

--

--

Emma Tilbury

Actress, Singer, and Dancer with a passion for writing. Letting you in on some musical theatre secrets, university life, and much more!