MENTAL HEALTH | ENTERTAINMENT

Is Everything Boring?

Portia, I feel you. Maybe we’re all still languishing.

Till
3 min readJan 18, 2023

--

Image via Twitter.

As the middle child of a Swiss-German family, born in a Zurich hospital, raised in the US and Hong Kong, China, educated in Boston, Massachusetts, now writing to you from a tiny two-bedroom in East Village, Manhattan, you’d think my worldview would be anything but bored; tired; pointless?

But when this scene played out in HBO’s White Lotus 2, I couldn’t help but relate to the character, Portia. She asked it first, and then, after inspecting the sentence in my head for a bit, I asked it aloud to myself:

IS everything boring?”

This morning’s news alone featured a helicopter crash, a sexual scandal strung up in conservative politics, and the looming and simultaneously illusory threat of a debt ceiling that could rattle American financial institutions.

Jesus, it’s like we live in a soap opera of our own creation. Of course everything isn’t boring — not literally.

But why then, does everything feel boring?

Maybe we’re just all overstimulated.

Burnt-out by the relentless madness of the world we’ve created.

--

--