How the Weather Taught me Adaptability as a Photographer

When nature becomes your teacher

Tim Chuon
5 min readJun 18, 2020

I thought I had my settings dialed in memory. I watched tons of videos, bought books that explained every setting, and practiced with my phone. Somehow, I managed to elude the fact that photography isn’t that easy, and speed is deceptively involved more often than not.

After taking the following photo on my Iphone 6+, I thought photography was much more simple than numbers clocked in for different settings:

A turtle sunbathing at noon at the beach, a wave crashing from behind it
A sunbathing turtle at Laniakea Beach, HI

It was midday, and our phones auto-adjust iso, f stop, white balance, and more. All it took was pressing one button. What’s interesting is that the photo turned out relatively nice and it was during the harshest time for lighting during the day. With this premise, I went into photographing landscapes without a second thought for making critical adjustments in a DSLR.

I was terribly wrong.

Sunrise

During sunrise, the day starts out dark and light creeps in over the skies. Depending on where light leaks through from the sun, your photo can become instantly overexposed and your foreground becomes a pitch-black void. Sometimes you’ll have about 10–20 minutes of spectacular light as the sun rises over a mountaintop; other days you can have 45 minutes. Within that…

--

--

Tim Chuon

Photographer & Videographer | Instagram + YouTube @timchuon | I write about photography concepts that help you improve. https://linktr.ee/Timchuon