45 Essential Quotes from Big Magic

Tim Cavey
10 min readJan 16, 2020

If you’re called to creative work, this book may be the best you will ever read.

Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

I have the creative bug.

To varying degrees, I’ve always had the desire to write. I wrote about my life of flirtations with prose in My One Word for 2020: Write.

Now I really have it. In 2018 I published 28 blog posts, and in 2019 I wrote 41. This year, I’m committed to writing at least 78.

Some people ask me how I find the time. The answer is a combination of getting up at 4:30 in the morning on most school days, not having to mind children under the age of 13, having a very supportive partner, and simply making the time.

I don’t watch sports. I don’t game. I don’t watch many movies.

Sometimes I write on my phone while in the car. Sometimes I write during lunches. Sometimes I’ll even walk away from reruns of The Office (gasp) to compose.

As Elizabeth Gilbert writes, “People don’t do this kind of thing because they have all kinds of extra time and energy for it; they do this kind of thing because their creativity matters to them enough that they are willing to make all kinds of extra sacrifices for it.”

I’ve concluded that creative work matters to me, and Big Magic helped solidify that commitment. Does creative work matter to…

--

--

Tim Cavey

Productivity, Technology, Stepparenting, Politics, Real Estate. Create> Consume. I talk education @TeachersOnFire.