7 Things I’ve Learned From Podcasting

Tim Cavey
6 min readMay 13, 2018
@TimCavey on Instagram

I published my first podcast episode about two months ago. It was a rocky beginning, but it followed months of dreaming, thinking, and deliberation. I was finally taking action, and it was an exciting start.

I’ve published new episodes every Wednesday and Saturday since. In some ways it’s been more of a challenging experience than I would have ever imagined. But I’m learning, trying to improve my craft, and thoroughly enjoying the process.

Why start a podcast based on interviews with educators?

One reason I began the podcast was to address what I saw as a hole in the education podcast space. There are many education podcasts currently available, but few that I found personally stimulating. I just wasn’t finding many real stories of real educators working in the trenches, partnering with their students, sharing the ecstasy of victories and learning from the agony of defeats. These stories were hard to find, and they weren’t being told in compelling ways. I believed (and continue to believe) that I can bring those stories to the education world in a manner that will invigorate educators and inspire better practice.

K-12 education is at an incredible place right now. Within the last decade, professional learning and networking has absolutely exploded, thanks largely to…

--

--

Tim Cavey

Productivity, Technology, Stepparenting, Politics, Real Estate. Create> Consume. I talk education @TeachersOnFire.