Why Being Spontaneous when traveling

Timeisure
3 min readDec 30, 2023

--

I love doing things spontaneously. In mid-November, as I needed to use up my leave entitlement from my company, I spontaneously decided to take a solo trip to Europe to visit the Christmas markets. It had always been a dream of mine to go there. It was quite an extravagant trip for me, flying from Asia to Europe to experience the Christmas vibes. As someone who is super spontaneous, I don’t plan ahead much. Most of the time, I just have a few ideas about the places I want to visit and the things I want to do the following day. Of course, if I need to travel to another country, I would book the train or bus a few days in advance.

I know many people who prefer planning things ahead. They might schedule their leaves half a year in advance, create an Excel spreadsheet, list all the to-do items, and create a detailed itinerary to look forward to the trip. This approach is especially useful for minimizing the chance of missing out on any nice venues or wasting time due to getting lost or inefficient travel routes. I appreciate their efficiency and their value for time during travel, as every minute they spend is precious. However, personally, I love going with the flow, seeing and feeling the moment as it unfolds when I arrive, instead of rushing from one place to another to check off items on a checklist. I have a few reasons why I love spontaneous trips.

Firstly, unexpected things happen. If I find something attractive or if the vibes of a place make me feel comfortable, I would love to stay there longer. Visiting somewhere new is like entering an unknown and wonderful land. You never know whether you will like it or not or how much time you will enjoy spending there until you’re actually there. For instance, in Vienna, I had no idea that I would love a cafe so much that I would feel joyful just by sitting and observing my surroundings. I would rather stay there longer and immerse myself in the experience than rush to the next place just to check it off a list. If I need to rush to the next place, it feels like putting the cart before the horse. The ultimate goal is to enjoy my life in that moment.

Secondly, there are many things I cannot anticipate, such as waiting times to enter a place or sudden physical needs like finding a restroom or getting water. It’s difficult to accurately estimate the time needed for these things.

Thirdly, sometimes you meet nice people during your travels that you want to spend time chatting with. The conversations may provide insights that go beyond what the trip itself can offer. The perspectives they share can open new windows through which to see the world.

I enjoy wandering the streets and observing the local people — their facial expressions, actions, and clothing can give me hints about the local lifestyle. It’s a way for me to understand the culture and immerse myself in the experience. For me, strolling through the streets is already a key activity when I travel.

Moreover, during spontaneous trips, you often come across amazing things that were not on your itinerary. You never know what might capture your attention until you’re there. It could be a shop, a street, a restaurant, or a garden that makes you spend a few hours. Just because they’re not on the list doesn’t mean they’re of any less importance.

Lastly, our physical condition and mood vary every day. Ideally, we would have 100% energy and a joyful mood all the time. We expect to be fully recharged physically and mentally after a good night’s sleep. However, that’s not always the case. We may feel exhausted and experience mood swings due to the natural cycles of dopamine stimulation. Sometimes, all we need is a leisurely afternoon walk after enjoying a hearty meal. We’re not here for rigorous military training with strict discipline to score all the points; instead, we’re here to enjoy the moments and fulfill our needs.

So, let’s embrace spontaneity, enjoy more, and worry less!

--

--

Timeisure
0 Followers

A highly sensitive person's journal to record my little journey on this planet and my thoughts from it.