I am Purposeful with Me

Shei
4 min readAug 6, 2023

--

How important is knowing your purpose to you? How do we even begin to identify what our purpose is, and more importantly, how do we fulfill it?

Tough questions, I know.

I embarked on a journey to find my purpose, and along the way, I discovered that there is a silver lining that comes with finding these answers — going through the process to find out.

Knowing your purpose is just reaffirming who you are and where you want to be in life.

Understanding what makes you, you, and pursuing those passions are what drives you to find your purpose.

I want us to get to the basics first though.

Understanding who you are and what you mean to you

Without a sense of self, how can we achieve, understand, or even pursue our calling?

One of the toughest challenges I faced in life was navigating who I was. I say “was” because it wasn’t the person I was meant to be or could be, and it damn sure isn’t who I am now.

Much of my self-perception (we’ll be using this term quite often lol) was shaped by individuals who defined who I am.

My experiences, especially traumatic ones, became the blueprint for who I thought I was destined to be. I felt ugly, ashamed, hurt, and angry (a lot more things on this list).

My self-esteem was at an all-time low, again; not because I wanted to feel that way but because I conditioned myself to tailor my experiences as repercussions for being me.

It wasn’t until I was at my lowest point, that I realized the love I had for myself was slim to none.

I wasn’t happy being just me.

I didn’t wake up excited to start the day being just me. I was going through the motions of living but not really living.

I searched endlessly for outside satisfaction and gratification; it was never enough.

My home was incomplete because the foundation I laid wasn’t enough to sustain me.

Rebuilding

Looking at the life I was living, and the way I saw myself, as heartbreaking as it was, led me to start making major changes in my life.

I had to rebuild my home, this time with some BIG self-appreciating bricks.

When you reach a point of enough, there is an automatic switch. This now enables you to explore the possibility that there could be more.

Driven by that fact, I began a journey of self-discovery. I got to know myself, in every single aspect.

I took my time with me. I began to read more and explore different facets of life, attempting to cultivate who I wanted to be and what it would require from me to get there.

I began to understand my flaws and habits (both good & bad), and I then had the ability to make changes and adjustments that were in line with who I wanted to become.

Understanding who I was, why I was, and what I wanted to be enabled me to find my purpose; it came full circle.

I gave myself meaning, I showered myself with unconditional love, I became passionate about my growth, and allowed myself to evolve without restrictions or influence.

Every day I wake up filled with love, admiration, and appreciation for myself.

All with time.

Starting Your Journey to Self-Discovery and Purpose

Below I laid out some questions to help you on your journey. I recommend carving out some time when you can be fully present.

Take your time answering the questions, it might be helpful to use a journal to note your answers; I have also created a worksheet to assist with your journey.

Start off with 1–2 questions a day; take a moment of clarity and be honest with yourself.

Nothing you say is too much; nothing is unattainable to you.

With this truly map out your expectations in yourself so you can then begin to do the work.

What do I like?

What are my beliefs?

What motivates me?

What makes me sad?

How do I want to love?

What kind of friendships do I need?

What are my ideas on relationships?

What kind of parent do I want to be?

These are very generic questions and there are many more (see the worksheet); this will just begin to open your mind and force you to truly think about what moves you and why.

One of the greatest gifts we are given in life is time.

Time to discover, learn, and grow.

Endless amount of time, opportunity, and chances.

Begin the search of finding yourself if you haven’t already; so, you can find your purpose.

- Shei

--

--

Shei

For whatever it's worth - be you. Here to share my words and I hope they resonate.