Chronicles of Tomorrow: Echoes from the Future Ep 8

Abhishekbiswas
3 min readJun 15, 2024

--

Recap(Ep.7)

My click

The calm before a storm

10th May 2355

I took a few days off work. The past events caught me off guard. I had not imagined that there might be survivors who lead a dying life because they lack the resources to shield themselves. The war was not supposed to leave survivors let alone survivors strong enough to create more than two generations.

I am not really bothered about them but the thought does paint a horrifying picture. Vomiting, diarrhea and severe headaches are just the start of radiation poisoning. Most of those who manage to survive will be anemic coupled with genetic deformities. Even the food they eat will be radioactive. I am more than glad that we constructed the Dome City in time.

There is a possibility that such a group of survivors might turn up one day at our doorstep. Even if I want to keep them outside, mainly due to security and health concerns, the dumb humanitarians will fight tooth and nail to bring them in. It’s not a dictatorship in the city and I am mainly to blame for it. I’ve always gotta do the right thing. I hate that about me. The earth also survived because of that trait. So, I guess I should hang on to it for a while longer. Been saying that for two centuries, I don’t know how much longer will that while last. Coming back to the thought at hand, the outsiders will certainly be riddled with various diseases and deformities. We should work on building containment centers for treating the “refugees” if they ever come to our doorstep. The further implications might include a rise in crime rate, morality. Thus, a new internal security policy has to be developed beforehand. Can’t sit on our behinds and wait for the bad incidents to happen.

03iht-edrodin03-articleLarge

I assumed that the destructive elements among human population would have been reduced to zero after the War. But again, there’s always a different probability. I had forgotten some will have the endurance of cockroaches. Moreover, the idea of an underground vault was quite obvious. What others lacked were the resources to build a sustainable one. The ones who didn’t think in this direction perished, for obvious reasons. I had gathered a few like-minded people. There will always be a few others who thought in the same direction and thus survived. It can be assumed that there will be more of such broken settlements. I am yet to arrive at a conclusion regarding the problem of mutation. Since the war, I came across a few cases of mutations but they were all benign. I don’t think there is any use pondering over this subject, better deal with it when the problem is at hand.

Now, for the problem at hand, the crater with radioactive goo underneath. I can’t deny that every time I think of that crater, I don’t want to think about it but denying something never helped anyone.

I was on the verge of tearing oit my hair the day I saw it. How the hell could it even exist? I can understand lava or hot water springs, but an underground radioactive deposit, capable enough to create a murderous storm? I am at my wit’s end, for now.

It’s better to spend the rest of my day with Husky, watching some prewar movies. A mindless action movie helps clear my mind off things

--

--