Way Finder

Tim KD
4 min readJan 30, 2024

When someone is blind, no matter where in the world you are, you become their eyes and ears.

I learnt that the hard way. Walking on the side of the road, there was a man with dark shades, head angled high so you could tell he had special needs. The stick he used to feel the ground could not detect there was a massive oil tanker parked infront of him, and as I watched in horror, he hit his head.

Eyes for seeing more than is visible, photo credits: Generative AI

That split second moment when I first noticed him while he was still a far way off, I instinctively knew I had to go offer to guide him to his destination. I knew what I had to do, yet in that moment I made the assumption that he has been down this road before. His confident walking was a sign he had taken this road before and knew exactly where he was going. There was a mosque just a few steps from where he was, and he was wearing a prayer cap so I did the math.

What a simple change of heart could have done is indescribable. We are presented with the simplest choices time and again, to walk in unfathomable love, or present ourselves with careless apathy for life in all its forms. There is honestly only one choice, however it does exact a price, the cost of our pride, at the risk of seeming a fool at the face of wisdom. Not everything we deem pure is pure to everyone.

It is in such moments I wonder, why did I wait for reason to guide me? Why did I not just…

--

--