Trapped in the Loop: How Smartphones Have Taken Over Our Lives

Tim Kwok
2 min readDec 27, 2023

From the moment we wake up to the time we go to bed, our smartphones have created a loop that we find ourselves trapped in.

Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

My four-day Christmas holiday flew by, and now I’m back at my office desk, working from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm. It’s hard to believe how quickly my holiday came to an end.

During my Christmas break, I had a wonderful time attending parties, indulging in delicious Christmas dishes, and exploring the festive atmosphere of the Christmas Market.

However, upon reflecting on my holiday, I realized that one activity consumed a significant amount of my time without me even realizing it:

Constantly checking and using my smartphone.

Excessive Smartphone Usage

Assess My Usage

When I checked my weekly smartphone usage results, I discovered that I spend an average of 7 hours on my smartphone each day.

Considering that I have 24 hours in a day, with 8 hours allocated for sleep and another 9 hours dedicated to work, I was surprised to find that 7 hours were being devoted to my smartphone.

Spending 7 hours per day on my smartphone translates to nearly a third of my waking hours…

--

--