Tim Neal
2 min readSep 22, 2016

--

I live in a nation that has at its core principles a social democratic system.

We hold elections, we hold open public debate and consultations, we have even been allowed direct access to our parliament and the governance of the country. Its not restricted by cost to corporations only.

We also have corporations, they flourish and grow, the contribute to the greater society and are part of the greater community.

Being socially responsible and being global can work together. You just need a system that avoids the extremes of to the right or to the left , you need a system which values all the people and recognizes that there will always be some in society less able and some more able.

Im lucky that over my life Ive always fallen into the latter and never had a problem being part of the assistance solutions by way of taxes to the former.

Why ? Why do I not simply view my 24 to 33 cents on the dollar general taxation on income as a burden and hindrance to me personally?
Simple because I know the difference between being the former and the latter is as simple as unavoidable consequences of life we can get served up with.
Im now 55 and have advanced arthritis, I don’t think I have many more productive working years left, but Im comfortable in the knowledge that no matter my situation I can still see a doctor or attend a hospital clinic and not be penalised with high charges and costs, and being deprived of income due to this is covered as we have universal sickness benefits to help me.

--

--