2020 Data Strategy Mentorship Program

Timo Budiono
3 min readJun 8, 2020

It’s 2020. We’re six months into it. Protesters are on streets across America demanding justice and condemning anti-Blackness. And they have been for the past two weeks since George Floyd was murdered on May 25th.

Yet, here I am, sitting on my laptop in my bedroom, completing my spring internship with General Motors. Sure, I have spread awareness and information on social media. Sure, I have donated to support movements, bail funds, and recovering businesses. But I know I can and should do more.

The Data Strategy Mentorship Program began on June 1, 2020

That is why I was motivated to join a virtual data strategy mentorship program, organized by members of TechSoup and Parsons TKO. Employees from these two organizations wanted to create an environment for students to network during the COVID-19 pandemic. The program, which is focused on the intersection of data analytics and social impact, allows other participants and I to collaborate on projects supporting causes we are passionate about. As someone who is passionate about diversity, equity, and inclusion, I saw this program as an opportunity to use my background in data analytics to truly make a difference.

The first week of the program was focused on networking and had us 19 participants meeting individually to learn about each other. I love meeting and getting to know new people, and I enjoyed learning about everyone’s background, skills, and passions. Many of us came to the conclusion that despite our diverse situations, each of us had overlapping interests and a desire to make a change.

Participants’ studies ranged from economics to physics
Most participants (14 of 19) were in California

Following the week of networking, each participant was asked to assess their overall experience. Did networking feel natural or awkward? Did it draw on skills you already had or push you to develop new skills?

Our reflection on networking sessions

The majority of respondents (14 of 19, 74%) felt that networking felt natural and pushed them to develop new skills. Three respondents (16%) stated that networking felt slightly awkward, two respondents (11%) stated that networking drew on skills they already had.

My response fell into the majority. I thought that each networking session felt very natural. In the past couple of months, I had become accustomed to virtual meetings through my internship and school and was comfortable meeting my peers in this way. I also felt that the sessions helped push me to develop new skills. Before the program, I already knew I wanted to advance my skills in Python, but hearing the other participants’ experiences was truly inspiring. From healthcare to sustainable fashion to investments, each participant provided a new perspective on how to apply data. I found that several had a similar passion for education, and I expressed hope in collaborating on a future project.

If the past two weeks have shown us anything, it’s that systemic change needs to happen in this country. My hope is that this program will help my peers and I to do meaningful analysis that informs our communities and challenges our leaders.

I am hoping to begin by doing projects that illuminate the truth surrounding police funding and the importance of diversity in education. Any other project ideas? Let me know in the comments!

--

--

Timo Budiono

Kettering University ’21. Hoping to make a change using data.