A Poor Adaptation

Mayfair Witches (2023) Season 1 Television Review

Timothy Pecoraro
4 min readJul 12, 2023

This is not typically a show I would watch. I passed on Interview with the Vampire for the same reason. I read the books and after seeing the terrible movies. I just assumed that Anne Rice’s work was better left on the page than on the screen. I stumbled on Mayfair Witches while looking for something else on AMC+ and decided to give it a shot. The season deals with how Rowan Mayfair learns she is a witch and all the wonderful and terrible things that means.

From AMC+

While I was quite impressed with some of the casting in the Mayfair Witches I have to admit that some of it was just a bit too off for my liking. But then, they are obviously trying something completely different with this show as it is set in modern times rather than in the 90s or even a little earlier. This would have kept them from creating a whole bunch of side content for the show that was completely unnecessary. Also, changing Michael Curry to Ciprien Grieve (played by Tongayi Chirisa) was quite an odd choice. Is it supposed to sound more ethnic or something? I can’t imagine.

--

--

Timothy Pecoraro

Medium Top Writer. Video game Journalist, programmer. If you want to know what to read, watch, or play you will find it here. Along with a bunch of Tech stuff.