Gaming News Beta

Battlefield 2042 PC Beta Impressions

Big and Pretty

Timothy Pecoraro
3 min readOct 8, 2021

--

As a rule, I’m a big fan of Battlefield; I’ve played all of them since they were on the XBOX 360. There are some that I’ve liked better than others. Hardline, for instance, was never one of my favorites. When they announced that Battlefield 2042 was coming out, I was relatively excited, although I wondered what they would include. I was hoping for Mechs, lasers, and possibly things that I’d never seen or thought of before. Well, after playing the beta for a while, I’m not exactly that excited about Battlefield 2042 anymore. It was about on the level of Call of Duty Advanced Warfare with fewer exciting gadgets. At the same time, we do get personal drones and walking robotic turrets. I hate to break it to them, but there have been drones in modern combat zones and tiny robots for about 20 years now. So that’s not precisely futuristic.

Captured by Author using Shadowplay

The maps are large and beautiful. Playing on PC, there are plenty of rough edges. Not precisely sure sometimes when there is tearing or a problem with a HUD in a vehicle if this is some…

--

--

Timothy Pecoraro

Medium Top Writer. Video game Journalist, programmer. If you want to know what to read, watch, or play you will find it here. Along with a bunch of Tech stuff.