Technology Linux Distribution Review PC

Pop!_OS 21.10 Review

Once you Pop you can’t stop!

Timothy Pecoraro
4 min readDec 15, 2021

--

Today I decided I was going to try out good old Pop OS, again. It is my second favorite distribution and definitely my favorite Ubuntu-like. I have to give it to the team at System76 they have made Pop OS even snappier than before. It did still call a few fake error messages on the first boot but after that, it was clear sailing. Doing a quick update through the Pop Shop everything was up-to-date. On first boot, this is pretty impressive.

I do like how full-featured this version seems to be, with lots of apps and no bloat. Also, love how great the fractional scaling is. Finally managed to get on a desktop that actually works for a change. I don’t feel like this is that big of a deal considering that I’ve tried Cinnamon, XFCE, and even took a stab at Matte. Only Gnome and KDE actually scale properly on my little crappy old laptop. The laptop has a strange native resolution so I usually use 1920x1080. Which seems to work more often than not. At least unless I try using on any recent version of XFCE, Cinnamon, or Matte. Why this is? It may be just a laptop problem. But something you should consider before installing Linux permanently on a computer. This is why Live USBs exist. As much as many first-time Linux users feel it necessary to blindly…

--

--

Timothy Pecoraro

Medium Top Writer. Video game Journalist, programmer. If you want to know what to read, watch, or play you will find it here. Along with a bunch of Tech stuff.