Creating a Headshot — Part #1: Leveraging ChatGPT

Timothyrgibbons
4 min readJan 30, 2024

--

[This is Part 1 of my quest to generate a usable headshot using ai tools. I’ll post Parts 2 and 3 later this week.]

A Collage of ChatGPT-generated Headshots

ChatGPT GPTs

ChatGPT is the current “gold standard” when it comes to many ai-related tasks. How does it do when you ask it to create a professional photo from a submitted photo? Many GPTs have been built on ChatGPT to accomplish this task. Let’s see how they compare.

For all the GPTs I tried, this is my starting image. It was taken a few weeks ago at a beach by my 8 year old son. My instruction to all the GPTs was to simply create a “professional looking headshot from the photo”. It’s only one photo, so my expectations are not high.

Thanks for taking the picture, Liam!

1. ChatGPT GPT: Professional Headshot

This GPT is called “Professional Headshot”. It added a tie, de-aged me by about 25 years, and gave me killer hair. That’s not me, but I hope that he has a blast on spring break this year.

I’m ready for my first day of work!

2. ChatGPT GPT: Headshot Creator

Here’s an image from a GPT called “Headshot Creator”. I look like a really good version of Seth Meyers. I think that this GPT basically said, “I don’t care what you look like … let’s pretend that you’re related to Seth Meyers.” I do worry that this guy could really be bald, and that his hair is being sprayed on. I’m not saying that it’s creepy, but it’s leaning in that direction.

Who will the first guest on my talk show?
Headshot Creator was clearly trained on a library of Seth Meyers images.

3. ChatGPT — GPT: AI Headshot Generator

I swear that I am using the original image of myself. I cannot think of a celebrity that quite looks like this. I’m not sure what’s going on with my collar. It looks like my stubble is so powerful, it is affecting my collar in some overpowering, manly way that overclocked the GPU. Also, you could sand down a deck with my stubble.

This guy probably lead a Series B round last week.

4. ChatGPT — Pro Business Photo

How am I supposed to complain about this guy stepping in for me? If this guy and I walk into the same job interview, I have no chance. Hell, if Chris Pine and he walk into an audition, Chris Pine is in serious trouble. Gal Godot is going to be asking for a chemistry read with THIS guy. Chris is very lucky that this guy was not around when they were casting for Wonder Woman. Alas, this guy looks NOTHING like me.

Chris Pine’s more successful brother.
Two people who have no problems with their headshots.

Verdict

Out of the gate, ChatGPT plugins don’t perform as expected. I want to look like me. I like me. Then again, what can I expect? ChatGPT was not trained on my images, and these GPTs had only one picture of me as reference.

My biggest issue is that the images do not look photo real. Consequently, these plugins are creating avatars, and not true headshots.

For Part 2, I’ll try out an app called Remini that asks you to submit to it 8–12 training images, and I’ll post the results soon.

#ai #headshots #fail

--

--

Timothyrgibbons

Experienced business operations leader with a passion for driving innovation and growth.