The Wedding Boots

Timpoa
3 min readMay 10, 2022
Photo by Sven Brandsma on Unsplash

My last post was about a demon catching fairy tale book. A magical weapon that I had as a child. There was another magical talisman in my childhood demon fighting weaponry, one which, in its way, still serves me today.
The talisman was a pair of red wellingtons I called the Wedding Boots.

The Wedding Boots were so-called, because the first pair I had was when I was learning to walk, and talk. I pronounced the word wellington as wedding. Later, when I first heard the fairy tale of Cinderella, I associated the boots with Cinderella’s glass slipper and her wedding to the prince. From that day, the beloved boots took on a magical power of their own.

The one-year-old me believed she could only walk in those boots. As I grew, each pair of red wellies took on the power of the Wedding Boots. Even after I could walk, they held a magic for me. I insisted on wearing the Wedding Boots all year round, inside and out. I had a party dress, pale lemon with layers of tulle and sparkles, and mum got me matching ballet type shoes. I would not wear them. I had to wear my magic boots. As I grew, each pair of red wellies took on the power of the Wedding Boots.

At some point, I no longer had the Wedding Boots. For many years, I lost my way in life. I forgot about my magic powers. I forgot how to grow. When I stumbled, I forgot how to get up again.

--

--

Timpoa

Cancer sun, Cancer rising, mostly water. Mother, writer, vegan, poet, dreamer. A Brit learning to embrace her fears at the bottom of the world.