We spend time and money on treating our skin from the outside. Perhaps we need to start from the inside. Photo by Noah Buscher on Unsplash

If You Want Great Skin, Stop Ignoring Your Diet.

We spend an insane amount of money on skincare products and forget the major culprit.

--

Skin diseases affect a staggering amount of people. From acne to warts and everything in between. In the U.S. more than 85 million people see their doctors for skin complaints every year. That’s more than cardiovascular disease, diabetes, and end-stage kidney disease combined. 1 in 4 Americans received treatment for skin disease in 2013 spending US$75 billion on treating and preventing flare-ups. In 2018, the global skincare product market was valued at US$124 billion projected to surpass $180 billion by 2027.

It’s said that the skin reflects our inner health and aging. I struggled with skin problems of all kinds; they preceded far greater health troubles. Red blotchy eczema all over my face, keeping me up all night and destroying my confidence during the day. Rosacea came out of nowhere minutes before a party. I turned beetroot red from my shoulders to the top of my head. I was so ruddy people couldn’t help but ask what had happened to me. I told them I was sunburnt, and we all had a laugh about it. No one asked where my sunburn had gone a few hours later.

A deficiency prevents collagen from working properly and dry, saggy…

--

--

Tim Rees
BeingWell

Registered clinical nutritionist. At war with autoimmunity. Diets & tips on website. The Nutrition Chronicles (Substack). Meat eater. Tim-Rees.com