A Walk In Time: One Day At Rippon Lea Estate

Tina
3 min readNov 28, 2023

--

Photo by Tina

As I walked through the gardens of Rippon Lea Estate, I could just see the mansion, standing there like a nineteenth century fortress. It was my first visit to this spectacular estate and it also felt like I was taking a step back in time. I’d entered a world of grandeur and sophistication at the perfectly preserved Rippon Lea Mansion, and learned a lot of its rich history from guided tours.

A Little About Rippon Lea Estate:

This historic place is located just a short drive from Melbourne and offers a glimpse into the history of a bygone era. The estate, with its vast Victorian architecture and meticulously maintained gardens, is just a wonder to see. The house itself was built in the 1860’s by Fredrick Sargood, who made his wealth by selling soft goods on the goldfields. With 33 rooms, it’s so well preserved, from the opulent interiors adorned with antique furnishings to the sprawling gardens, Rippon Lea Estate is a place everyone should visit at least once.

My Itinerary:

I started my day with a guided tour of the Mansion. We began with a relaxed walk through stunning green gardens. The well-manicured lawn created a sense of serenity for me too and I felt like I could sit outside for hours, preferably reading or simply soaking up the tranquility. But inside, was just as impressive.

Our tour guide led us through various rooms, each with its own story to tell. I was eager to learn more about the lives of those who had once lived in this superb place.

One of the features I loved was the interior of the Mansion. The halls were adorned with antique furnishings and rich décor, reminiscent of a time when opulence and intricate craftsmanship defined elegance. The halls exuded a sense of regality, that as soon as I entered, I snapped up as many photos as I could before heading out for a bite to eat.

Photo By Tina

The art was also one of the best highlights of my visit. The extensive collection of 19th-century paintings that hung on the mansion’s walls offered a glimpse into the art and culture of the 1800’s, each one telling a unique story. I stumbled upon an 1800's style painting, a self portrait that etched itself into my memory. The artist seated on a chair, was accompanied by an ambiguous figure either an angel or a personification of death. The scene was just about capturing a likeness;it was a tale of symbolism woven into the canvas. Standing there studying each brushstroke left me pondering the mysteries of life and death. The mastery of the artist was on full display, and it was a privilege to be able to appreciate this piece up close.

Indulging in High Tea or Picnics:

Indulging in high tea at the mansion felt like a royal affair. Sipping green tea and nibbling on dainty sandwiches in rooms adorned with ornate decorations — every bite felt like a trip back in time. If you prefer the outdoors though, I’d opt for a picnic hamper; there’s something magical about dining amidst the beauty of nature. As someone who suffers from frets of stress every now and then, this trip was the ideal break for me. So, spending my afternoon finding a cozy spot under a tree or by the pond and soaking in the calmness felt great.

Quick Tips for Travelers:

Open daily from 10 am to 5 pm. Mansion tours are available during operating hours. The last tour starts at 2 pm.

Parking: Limited onsite parking available. I suggest using public transport or ridesharing.

Photography: Remember to capture each Instagram worthy moment!

Comfortable Attire: I recommend wearing comfortable shoes for exploring the gardens and inside the Mansion.

Happy travels!

--

--

Tina

Passionate about life's nuances, I write about lifestyle, travel tips, and savor each day with a cup of coffee in hand. Join me on my journey of discovery