My Interpretation Of Parasite Movie

Aakansha Bhamre
3 min readFeb 19, 2020

--

Impromptu plans are the best and I recently had one such experience. It was a Sunday eve and I made a plan for a movie with my friend. I am a K-Drama lover and I was so excited to watch this movie. Also the movie is ‘Oscar winning movie’ so it made me to watch it. And I had no expectations as I don’t know the plot and theme of the movie. But after watching it I was truly surprised and impressed by the movie.

The title of the movie is so apt to the storyline.As the word parasite means an organism that lives in or on another organism (host) and benefits by deriving nutrients at the others expense. That’s what the storyline is about and it is beautifully shown how it all happens. In the movie there are two families Park and Kim. The Park family is the host for the Kim family and they used all the resources of the Park family in a very interesting and intelligent way.

Both the family have different class and because of it all the things played very different kind roles in their lives, like

  • Staircase - For Park family it was just going upward as they are on pick of hierarchy of lifestyle. The house of Park was on top. Whereas for Kim’s family staircase is shown for going downward as their house was in the basement.
  • Rain - For Park’s heavy rain is so good as it kills the pollution of the environment but for Kim’s that same rain took away their place to live.

The first half of the movie was very humorous and light hearted. The ways Kim family was trying to get job by fooling Park’s so they could have benefits from their host was so interesting to see. And they were successful in fooling the Park family and grabbing their resources like a proper parasite. The qualities of parasites is truly shown by Kim’s family like they live in a dirty and unhygienic environment in a naive manner at basement where sunlight barely comes, while Park’s family lives in a very big house with big windows so the sunlight is easily accessible also they live in a hygienic environment and with many facilities. This conflict of the class is shown in the movie, the lives of rich and struggle of poor.

While watching it I was continuously thinking now what ..what’s going to happen next….I guess it was my first movie when I was so into the movie that also in intermission I was just trying to get the conclusion of the movie.

But the fact is second half of the movie was so different from my imagination. The humorous story suddenly takes turns and became thrilling, dark and tragic. Many new revelations occurred. Social inequality is also shown in the movie, the way rich talk about the smell and many of things which only becomes the main element of climax. In the second half the title meant that the way parasite finds the place to hide when the situation arises the same done by the Kim’s family. Also as the rain washes all the insects (parasites) same happened with the Kim’s family, as the rain washed away their house. And at last after taking benefits from the host (Park’s) Kim killed the host.

At last I want to let you know that the movie is worth to watch. It is a tragicomedy and I am damn sure the way I loved it and it is now one of my favorite movie. You are also going to love it. So watch it….!

--

--