25 Years of Thanks

Tina Yip
3 min readAug 12, 2015

--

I’m turning 25 in three hours and it’s quiet in my apartment.

A few weeks ago, I was complimenting a friend on a presentation he made (he won an award and went to France for it) and asked him about the process he went through to create it.

“It actually wasn’t that complicated,” he said, “I sat down, dug into my thoughts and wrote out everything. We are so bombarded with all sorts of media these day that we don’t have time to think and write down our thoughts. Anyone could have came up with that presentation. I just took time to tune out the noise, sit and think. Sometimes we just have to sit blankly and think.”

Interesting.

I’m one of those people who hate to just “sit there blankly and think.” Usually on a Tuesday night I’m either out at an event (am actually missing one right now), working (could probably do some of that right now), tweeting (I don’t watch PLL but I want to know who A is), reading (currently on LEAN IN), blasting music(I literally can’t with Spotify Discover Weekly), watching TV (30 Rock); there’s always something to keep me occupied.

…which, brings me to tonight.

I feel like doing something different tonight. To me, that means sitting in silence to think and write. No Facebook, no texting, no RSS feeds. Just me, myself and I (sorry I had to.)

So, 25 in three hours…

In the past few days, people kept asking me how I am going to celebrate my birthday. How I’m going to celebrate being 25. How I’m going to celebrate me. And if you know me, you know I have no problem owning in the spotlight (I AM a Leo.) But I didn’t want that.

I wouldn’t have loved my past 25 years without the people that I’ve met. From my English teacher (who made me watch Dodge Ball three times in a year) to my cast mates in High School Musical (it’s Hong Kong’s production of it so chill, I don’t know Zac Efron) to my a cappella group (duh) to people who have opened doors for me in my career, I am so incredibly blessed to have met so many people who have shaped and became part of me.

As I am entering my quarter life, I want to take a step back and thank you for being part of my life.

Tomorrow, I will call 25 people (no one ever calls any more!!) who I am most grateful for. People who I want to make sure to say “thank you” again to. Of course, the list goes way beyond 25 people but I have a job so I can’t spend all day calling people and l just have to be real and put a cap on it ok -_- That aside, if you’re reading this, thank you for being part of my life. I am so grateful for everyone who I’ve met in the past 25 years and I feel so blessed to continue my life with you.

I’m turning 25 in fifteen minutes and it’s quiet in my apartment. That wasn’t so bad. Actually was kinda fun. That guy might be onto something…

--

--

Tina Yip

Community 👯‍♂️ Future of work 👓 Personal growth 🌱