My meta side project

Tina Yip
2 min readSep 14, 2015

--

“Um this is so cool and the world should see this.” — These were my exact thoughts when I saw one of Zack McCune’s first side projects.

Side projects are projects that we take on outside of work or studies. They often require a lot of time and effort because they are commitments we decide to take on outside of our main responsibilities.

We are often labeled by what they do in their full time jobs. However, side projects are sometimes really where we fully shine and express ourselves to the world.

I appreciate and respect people who put themselves out there with the creations they made out of passion and want to shine a light on them.

Other than the dispersed articles on PSFK, Fast Company and other publications, there hasn’t been a place that houses interesting side projects.

Hence, I created side&seek.

side&seek showcases some of the most interesting side projects and makers. It also aims to inspire ones who are seeking ideas for their next side project. (Get it? side…and seek…? Wink wink. Kudos to Jason who helped me with the name.)

Today, I’m launching with three makers who’s side projects have generated many online conversations and even went viral. Since you can and are encouraged to go on the makers’ websites to learn about their projects, the interviews focused less on what their projects are but on why they did them, how they made them and what side projects meant to them. Honing in on the “whys” and “hows” also helped developed unique stories and themes about side projects for each maker — Zach’s post was on curiosity, William’s on validation and Ximena’s was on “side project as a time capsule”.

Their stories are truly inspiring and I hope they will get you thinking too.

I will be updating the site continuously as I interview more makers. This is just a jumping off point for side&seek. I want to develop it to be something useful and tangible for side project makers and seekers. No idea what it will be yet but we’ll see where it goes!

If you have/ know of any cool side projects or have any feedback, email me at tina at tinayip dot com!

Special thanks to Austin for the beautiful illustrations, Jason for being amazing with words and Zack for constantly inspiring me.

PS. Austin unfortunately has to bow out of this project. I’m currently seeking a new illustrator for the site. Please contact me if you’re interested or know of anyone would be interested!

PPS. Aaaand shameless plug for my other side project. Come to one if you’re in New York!

--

--

Tina Yip

Community 👯‍♂️ Future of work 👓 Personal growth 🌱