Havana Colon Cemetery and its Incredible Legend ~ My Journey to Cuba

Melissa Herzog
4 min readDec 9, 2023

We were very privileged in being able to travel to Cuba on a people to people visit several years ago. I had no idea what to expect, what I would be seeing and how the Cuban people would react to us as Americans.

Photo by Melissa Herzog

It was such an amazing journey and I learned so much about the people, the culture and the history. The Cuban people were very accepting to us and very happy to see us. Many smiling and waving along the way. I have many stories of Cuba to tell and I took over 2,000 photos. But we don’t have that much time, now, do we?

The Cuban people don’t have much. And, when we arrived, you would have thought they were begging for money. But they weren’t. They were asking for supplies. They never once asked me for money. In fact, one gentleman wanted the carabiner off of my backpack and was willing to pay me for it.

We knew the shortage of some supplies they needed, but what I took was small toiletries like soap, shampoo and also pens, things that I could carry with me. One man was so thankful for the pens, he started crying. They respect their culture, no matter what you or I may think of their way of life, or their politics, they have respect.

--

--

Melissa Herzog

Family, writing and travel are my passions. Former Travel Agent with years of experience in planning travel and adventure. Come along with me on my journeys.