Leilani’s Letter

One Former Foster Youth Overcomes All Odds

Tipping Point
2 min readJun 9, 2015

Only 3% of foster youth graduate from college in the U.S., but thanks to Tipping Point grantees First Place for Youth and the SF State Guardian Scholars Program, Leilani Vo beat the odds.

Here’s a message from Leilani about the support she received along the way:

On May 22, 2015, I became the first person in my family to graduate college!

My younger siblings and I went into the foster care system when I was 13 because of family neglect. Luckily, my baby brother was adopted early on, but my sister and I spent the rest of our childhoods in foster care. When I turned 18, I jumped at the chance to go to college and be on my own. But I wasn’t able to find safe, stable housing and as a result, couldn’t focus on my studies. Eventually, the pressure got to me and I had to take a break from school.

I needed help to get back on track, and that’s when I found First Place. They’ve given me so much support to help me reach my full potential. My First Place team helped me realize that I’m not alone and that I don’t have to be overwhelmed because they’re always there for me.

I returned to school at San Francisco State and completed my Bachelor’s Degree in Liberal Studies. On campus, I was also a part of Guardian Scholars, which felt more like a family than a community. It’s reassuring to know that with Guardian Scholars, you always have a backbone.

While I’m unsure about my long-term career goals, I am inspired to help others in the same way I’ve been supported. For the first time in a long time, I’m excited about my future.

I’m also proud that my little sister is currently in college. Soon, she’ll be the second in our family to graduate!

Leilani

--

--

Tipping Point

We fight poverty by finding and funding the most promising non-profits in the Bay Area. See how we’re changing the odds: www.tippingpoint.org + @tippingpoint