Adjusting Physics …. Material

Timothy Janssen
2 min readApr 28, 2024

--

Right now the basketball does not feel like a basketball. It feels more like a bowling ball. It is time to fix this with Physics Materials.

Physics Materials are a great way to get an object to feel the way it does in real life. To start I will create a new Physics Material through the menu and name it Basketball.

There are some options here to adjust to get the feeling. The first one is going to be the obvious. I will increase the bounciness to get the basketball to bounce. The range this can be is from 0 -1. I will set this to 1 and see how it feels.

Before I start testing I will also make another material, name it ground, and set the Bouncieness to 0.5. Now I need to attach these materials to their proper field. This is found on the collider component of the game object.

The materials are made and properly attached. After some testing I found that the basketball was still not acting like a basketball. The way to fix this is to adjust the Mass of the Rigidbody component.

Now it is time to see how this feels.

There it is. From here on out I can fine-tune these settings to get the desired outcome. Now it is your turn, get out there and create some cool Physics Materials!!!!

--

--