Basic Hand Animations

Timothy Janssen
3 min readApr 25, 2024

--

There are hands on the rig now. Now I need to animate them.

I will head back to Filebase, grab the hands animation pack, and then import it into Unity.

I only imported the default and fist animation for this project right now.

With that out of the way, I can go into the XR Controller component of the RightHand Controller game object and check the Animate Model option to see more options. These will get filled in later on.

What I need to do next is create an Animation Controller for the right and left hand model prefabs. After I create the animation controllers I will assign them in the inpsector.

I will show the process for the right hand. I will repeat this process for the left hand using the left hand assets. First, I will set up the states and transitions in the Animation Controller.

The transitions need some conditions so they are not continuously looping. For this, I will create two triggers, one named Select and the other is Deselect.

I will assign the correct trigger to the correct transition.

Lastly, I will assign the animations to the states.

To finish this, I will fill out the transitions in the XR Controller component I skipped over earlier. These need to match the trigger names I made in the Animation Controller. Remember to do the same for the left hand using the left hand assets.

Now it is time to see these animations in action. The select is tied to the grip button on the controllers.

It works. Now it is your turn to add some animations to your VR hands!!!!

--

--