Create a loading bar in Unity

Timothy Janssen
2 min readOct 2, 2023

--

In this demonstration I will cover how to make a loading scene with a slider that shows the current amount of the scene loaded.

As usual, I start with a canvas that has a background image, text, and a slider.

I created the script to load the scene with all that out of the way. I will add the starting variables.

Do not forget to add the using UnityEngine.UI and UnityEngine.SceneManagment to get access to the proper libraries.

Now it is time to make the function to load the new scene and update the progress bar.

Remember to add the scenes to the build setting so that the SceneManagment will recognize the scene I am trying to load.

Since only a canvas is on the scene that will be loaded, it will happen fast. So keep a keen eye on the bar.

It works as intended. Now it is your turn to get some scenes loaded with a loading bar!!!!

--

--