I hate being a white male

and how that makes me hate being a white male even more

t.j. peters
7 min readOct 30, 2017

Boy-oh-boy is it rough being a white dude. Lemme tell ya. First off, we don’t get enough attention. Plain and simple. Secondly…

Still here?

Are you wary of the cringeworthy self-awareness of the “Still here?” bit, yet STILL find yourself interested in reading at least a few more

Words to the wise? The following could potentially be considered a “think piece”, at least in the sense that the author is thinking about the subject a lot, but a more accurate description would probably be “prolapsed journal entry”.

The inherent privilege of being a white male is my entire existence. It drives or at the very least assists nearly everything that has ever happened to me, and I imagine it will continue to do so for the remainder of my life.

I am the only child of an upper-middle class (Is that still a thing?) white family. Our whiteness has provided at least two generations of leg-up-edness, to the extent that if I fail professionally, I will have…

--

--

t.j. peters

Humorist. Essays, insights, anecdotes. Some poetry, some fiction. All of it is bad.