Farewell Uterus

Tiphany Kane
2 min readJan 12, 2022

Musings on a Hysterectomy

Photo by Alexander Krivitskiy on Unsplash

I’m sitting in the cold office on an examining table covered in paper that crinkles with my every move. I’ve been in this office too often lately. I know these pale blue walls, the ice-cold stirrups, the pictures of babies growing inside their mother's belly. The doctor is sitting on her stool, expo marker in hand, drawing a diagram of what my uterus looks like over a laminated photo of a healthy uterus.

This conversation is not a surprise to me. Yesterday, when the nurse called to say my biopsy results were back and the doctor wanted to see me tomorrow…I knew. I knew this conversation was coming. In the past few weeks, I’ve had exams, blood work, uterine ultrasound, and a painful uterine biopsy. I was prepared for this conversation.

“It’s not cancer yet,” the doctor looks me in the eyes, “but your cells are abnormal and you have significant scar tissue. I am recommending a hysterectomy.”

My partner and I ask our questions. I feel oddly, eerily calm. I am able to have a matter-of-fact conversation with the doctor. No crying. The doctor answers all of our questions and then we leave….to wait for the surgical nurse to call and schedule the surgery.

As I pick-up my 11-year old son from my friend’s house, the weight of this surgery hits me. My uterus is the womb that grew this beautiful boy…

--

--

Tiphany Kane

CEO: KaSa Media Productions, Professional Development Expert. Instagram/twitter @tiphanykane, Pod: Radical Audacity Pod: Mastering the Podcaster Mindset