Terrie Kayea
7 min readSep 2, 2019

Why be an Entrepreneur

Entrepreneurship is the most powerful tool for every successful person regardless of their occupations. I believe we all practice some type of entrepreneurship. From the president to the janitor; the one considers the least in an organization must also sell their brands. For instance, a candidate running for the presidential office would have to convey his or her message in a profound way that would attract voters. A businessperson must be very creative and continuously look for ways to provide good customer service. A job applicant knows very well what questions to expect in an interview, therefore, prepares for them. We all have something to sell. We might not be as good as the person who specializes and study Entrepreneurship but the bottom line is there are unaware traits of entrepreneurship that circulate in every walk of life.

I became a little surprise when I completed an entrepreneur assessment. The questions were so in-depth that I found out something unique about myself. The assessment indicated that I’m a transformer. Transformers are ambitious change makers who re-energize traditional industries and take them to the next level. To my surprise there was truth in that assessment. For years, I have been thinking about entering the Car-Wash business and exploring ways that would make it unconventional. With this goal in mind, I’m working hard to achieve it.

I come from a family that doesn’t have any history of entrepreneurship. As a kid, my parents worked extremely hard as security guards and a mechanics. Our monthly expenses depended on their paychecks. This is in no way suggesting that they could not have became entrepreneurs. For the most part, you don’t have to be rich or have a lucrative job to be an entrepreneur. However, when you live in a country that encourages political unrest and discourages education, innovation and in dependency, chances are you are most likely not going to own a business. Therefore, I want to break that circle. I want to be an entrepreneur not just because my parents were not. My passion comes from my quest for success as an emigrant from one of the poorest villages in the world. I realized that I currently live in one of the most prosperous economies in the world where success is attainable by hard work, dedication and honesty, regardless of your race, gender, ethnicity, religious belief, creed, etc. Each time I think about this, I say to myself, “If I don’t become successful as an entrepreneur, it’s all on me.”

Three years ago, I attended the International Young Leaders Assembly at the United Nations. Prior to the commencement of the program, I had the chance to interact with other young leaders and dignitaries from different parts of the world. Every person I had a conversation with, I would ask this question “Besides being an activist or a diplomatic official, what other aspects of life are you involved with?”. To my surprise, about 80% of their responses was they were trying to start a business or held a share in a company. For hours the program went on and the only question that was lingering in my mind was, “why are all these people interested in the business world when they can just work and retired as diplomats?”. This made me believe that even the most successful politicians know that business pays and the feeling of having your own business or being a part of one is unmatchable. Since then, I have created an innovative mindset for owning my own business.

Even though I so dearly want to establish a venture, I’m aware of the responsibilities and risks that come with it. I have done a lot of research on the industry I want to be apart of which is (Part the industry here), and for the most part, I’m conscious of the sacrifices needed to make this a reality. That feeling of being independent is what I’m looking forward to each time I see the sun rise which is why being an entrepreneur is the best career for me and there is no doubt that five years from now, I will have my own business.

The purpose of this article is to share my story and let you know that it’s never too late to be an entrepreneur. It all starts with the desire and passion for something you would love to do. The goal should not solely be to make money. You want to be that entrepreneur that provides values to your customers or audience. The rest will follow. Take advantage of every opportunity and resources available to you out there. Sometimes the bigger picture is the little thing. Therefore, don’t be afraid to start small. Don’t listen to the wrong people. If your business plan sounds too big and idealistic to the people you share them with, chances are, it is realistic. Work towards it. Try and don’t be afford of failure. What most first time starter don’t realize is that, there’s a lesson that failure teaches everyone of us. Our approach after we experience it is what makes us Entrepreneurship is the most powerful tool for every successful person regardless of their occupations. I believe we all practice some type of entrepreneurship. From the president to the janitor; the one considers the least in an organization must also sell their brands. For instance, a candidate running for the presidential office would have to convey his or her message in a profound way that would attract voters. A businessperson must be very creative and continuously look for ways to provide good customer service. A job applicant knows very well what questions to expect in an interview, therefore, prepares for them. We all have something to sell. We might not be as good as the person who specializes and study Entrepreneurship but the bottom line is there are unaware traits of entrepreneurship that circulate in every walk of life.

I became a little surprise when I completed an entrepreneur assessment. The questions were so in-depth that I found out something unique about myself. The assessment indicated that I’m a transformer. Transformers are ambitious change makers who re-energize traditional industries and take them to the next level. To my surprise there was truth in that assessment. For years, I have been thinking about entering the Car-Wash business and exploring ways that would make it unconventional. With this goal in mind, I’m working hard to achieve it.

I come from a family that doesn’t have any history of entrepreneurship. As a kid, my parents worked extremely hard as security guards and a mechanics. Our monthly expenses depended on their paychecks. This is in no way suggesting that they could not have became entrepreneurs. For the most part, you don’t have to be rich or have a lucrative job to be an entrepreneur. However, when you live in a country that encourages political unrest and discourages education, innovation and in dependency, chances are you are most likely not going to own a business. Therefore, I want to break that circle. I want to be an entrepreneur not just because my parents were not. My passion comes from my quest for success as an emigrant from one of the poorest villages in the world. I realized that I currently live in one of the most prosperous economies in the world where success is attainable by hard work, dedication and honesty, regardless of your race, gender, ethnicity, religious belief, creed, etc. Each time I think about this, I say to myself, “If I don’t become successful as an entrepreneur, it’s all on me.”

Three years ago, I attended the International Young Leaders Assembly at the United Nations. Prior to the commencement of the program, I had the chance to interact with other young leaders and dignitaries from different parts of the world. Every person I had a conversation with, I would ask this question “Besides being an activist or a diplomatic official, what other aspects of life are you involved with?”. To my surprise, about 80% of their responses was they were trying to start a business or held a share in a company. For hours the program went on and the only question that was lingering in my mind was, “why are all these people interested in the business world when they can just work and retired as diplomats?”. This made me believe that even the most successful politicians know that business pays and the feeling of having your own business or being a part of one is unmatchable. Since then, I have created an innovative mindset for owning my own business.

Even though I so dearly want to establish a venture, I’m aware of the responsibilities and risks that come with it. I have done a lot of research on the industry I want to be apart of which is (Part the industry here), and for the most part, I’m conscious of the sacrifices needed to make this a reality. That feeling of being independent is what I’m looking forward to each time I see the sun rise which is why being an entrepreneur is the best career for me and there is no doubt that five years from now, I will have my own business.

The purpose of this article is to share my story and let you know that it’s never too late to be an entrepreneur. It all starts with the desire and passion for something you would love to do. The goal should not solely be to make money. You want to be that entrepreneur that provides values to your customers or audience. The rest will follow. Take advantage of every opportunity and resources available to you out there. Sometimes the bigger picture is the little thing. Therefore, don’t be afraid to start small. Don’t listen to the wrong people. If your business plan sounds too big and idealistic to the people you share them with, chances are, it is realistic. Work towards it. Try and don’t be afford of failure. What most first time starter don’t realize is that, there’s a lesson that failure teaches everyone of us. Our approach after we experience it is what will makes us better.

Terrie Kayea

Young Liberian innovationist studying Accounting and Economic at Rutgers University . "There's no way you can escape the choices of your destiny".