A hydrogen-powered French revolution

Here’s a reason to be proud of France

Tristan Boudazin
10 min readAug 3, 2022
Photo: https://www.auto-moto.com

As I made very clear in a recent article about the new Peugeot 408, I will happily go on about the terribleness of popular French cars for days on end. However, when, just like in the case of the 408, a brand like Peugeot comes along and impresses the public with its daring styling, and impressive technologies, all for the reasonable price tag they’re known for, I’ll be just as enthusiastic to write about such a car. Today, I’ve found another reason to be proud of France.

It’s perfectly arguable that over the years, French cars have traded their sense of “je ne sais quoi” for a much more down-to-earth and basic approach to popular cars. Citroen was once developing new kinds of suspension systems that rivaled the road-comfort of Rolls Royces and Renault used to go beyond the profit margin and come up with sporty versions of traditional cars such as the V6 Clio, even if it didn’t make any financial sense for the brand. Unfortunately, the time of these crazy innovations and unpredictable breakthroughs is long gone. Or is it?

The car I’m going to talk about today doesn’t claim to bring back pure French madness and nor has it made it its mission. Instead, if we have to bury this past and look into the future, the newly-born French brand Hopium has an interesting and…

--

--

Tristan Boudazin

Hello there, I write for fun. I’ve been a car enthusiast for…ever, but now, I’m also sharing my strong opinions on the tech industry and mostly Apple products.