What is a user story?

Truong Lam✌
1 min readNov 19, 2014

--

There are many ways a person break down information and process them. People learn from seeing others (shadowing) and some learn by just doing it with no one helping them. At the end of the day, it depends on who you are and how do you process information in your noggin.

I find it much more efficient if I did things myself. I could shadow a person one time and then probably do things on my own which is totally different from theirs. That’s totally fine. One of the things I do when working on a project is I do things agile. What that means is I come up with a task list and break these tasks down to little stories. We call it user stories in product management, specifically in agile software development. These user stories contains pieces of information, but not in detail. Usually it’s written out like this:

“As a (type of user), I want (some goal) so that (some reason).”

Reason why you want to write a good and simple, but not detailed is because you do not want to limit the engineers or designers ability to do such task. This gives them room to fulfil the feature without limitations. When the engineers are done with the task then it’s time to test.

So, what tools do you use for writing user stories?

Index cards. (nothing fancy)

--

--

Truong Lam✌

ux @cisco. A novice and aspiring front end dev — previously @apple @ikkyhk @taxiwise. #dataviz #enterprise #graffiti #streeteasy