Not ALL Women!

Carol Taylor
2 min readDec 10, 2023

--

Notice how every time we say something about toxic male behaviour someone will always pipe up ‘not ALL men’?

Isn’t that obvious? It’s got to the point where whenever I say anything about men I find myself having to say ‘alot’ or ‘some’ for fear of being misunderstood!

So let’s flip the coin for a minute.

Women are bad drivers

Women can’t park

Women are too emotional

Women are weak

Throw like a girl

Run like a girl

Fight like a girl

We’ve all heard these things said & I am pretty sure they are used in general terms to mean ALL! I would like to point out that I am very good at parking. In fact I can parallel park within an inch either end quite seamlessly. I’ve been tempted to take a photo many times to prove it but why should I? I should be happy enough in myself with my own capabilities.

So clearly we should be saying ‘not ALL women’ when these things are said but we don’t! Why is that? Maybe because we are happy enough to know that these derogatory & untrue things are just said to put women down & boost the male ego. Surely we shouldn’t be happy with that? Well then maybe we just know that they don’t apply to us, or our mothers, or our daughters, or sisters……

I'm actually very good at throwing too!

What I’m saying is that men have gotten away with generalising about women for centuries with not one ‘not ALL women’ remark! That bothers me!

--

--

Carol Taylor

I am a 57 hairstylist/barber of 41 yrs. I love reading, writing & art. I have 2 adult children & have been happily engaged to a wonderful man for 7 yrs.