My Journey Through Taylor Jenkins Reid’s Novels

tliztoms.bookshelf
3 min readSep 21, 2023

--

In recent years, there has been a significant surge in popularity for books written by Taylor Jenkins Reid, who is often referred to as TJR. These books have captured the attention of readers due to their unique blend of historical fiction, empowering female leads, and intricately crafted main characters. Here is the list of all the TJR novels I have read so far:

Books By Taylor Jenkin’s Reid

1. Daisy Jones & The Six:

“You can’t control another person. It doesn’t matter how much you love them. You can’t love someone back to health and you can’t hate them back to health and no matter how right you are about something, it doesn’t mean they will change their mind.”

I listened to Daisy Jones & The Six on Audible.

Centered around the rock and roll scene in the 70s, the story follows ‘Daisy Jones & The Six’ (a band) who rose to fame and disbanded in a very short time. It is a story on love, complicated relationships, addiction and music. As with the other two books I have on this list, this one also explores the effects of fame and the struggles of each character.

The best way to experience this book would be through the audio version. The book has been written in an oral history style format and the narrators have done an outstanding job.

Check out my detailed review here!

2. The Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo:

“It’s always been fascinating to me how things can be simultaneously true and false, how people can be good and bad all in one, how someone can love you in a way that is beautifully selfless while serving themselves ruthlessly.”

The Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo (Kindle edition) was the second book I read and so far my favorite! Once I started this one, I couldn’t keep it down. If you are looking exploring TJR’s books, I would recommend starting with this one.

Set in 1950s Hollywood, it follows the life of Evelyn Hugo moves to LA to pursue her dreams of making it in cinema. TJR does a great job of covering the love story between Evelyn and Celia in this one. As the reader, you are also shown a stark contrast between Evelyn’s life in the tabloid and what really took place.

Check out my detailed review here!

3. Carrie Soto Is Back:

We live in a world where exceptional women have to sit around waiting for mediocre men.”

The most recent book I read was Carrie Soto Is Back (physical hardbound copy). Primarily following the women’s tennis scene in the 90s, this book is about how Carrie makes a comeback at 37 years old to defend her Grand Slam titles. Even if you have no prior knowledge of Tennis, by the end of this book, you will feel like you have a complete understanding of the game.

I liked how TJR covered the sexism women face in the sports field, as well as showcasing an endearing father-daughter relationship. To me, Carrie’s character emphasizes that it is never too late to grow, regardless of age.

Check out my detailed review here!

Question: Have you read any books from Taylor Jenkins Reid?

Let’s connect on Goodreads: tliztoms.bookshelf
Follow what I am currently reading on Instagram: tliztoms.bookshelf

--

--