Altering Pre-Built Texture Maps in Unity

Thomas Mauro
3 min readAug 27, 2022

--

If you look at my previous articles about the sci-fi control room you will notice the color/texture of my assets is yellowish. Not what I want really. So texture map altering of the existing assets became the goal. I will fill you in on the basic process with photoshop to alter the texture maps. After this article, the next will be about adding emission lighting to the prebuilt assets.

The first thing I did was downloaded photoshop and started a 7-day free trial. You can also use a program called GIMP for this same purpose, and it is free. Once PS is open I then needed to locate the texture I want to alter in Unity. From there you right-click on the texture map and open the file in explorer. From there it's drag & drop from the file to PS.

The original look and color of the wall asset and its original texture map

Once you have the texture map in PS you can start altering it. The image below is what it looks like after you drag it into PS.

To start some quick adjustments you need to add some adjustment layers. Adjustment layers are things like color, brightness, contrast, and many more advanced options for alterations. For mine, I only added Hue/Saturation and Curves 1. I also altered the color a bit as well.

Original Look/New altered Look

From there it was time to get this altered texture map updated into the Unity project. This is how I did it and how it worked for me using PS.

  • File
  • Save a copy and save the file as a PNG. It must be a PNG
  • Save on your computer (I also save to Creative Cloud after I do this)
  • From there it should open to the texture map file location
  • Click on the original texture map and save the file
  • Go to Unity and it should update/alter the texture map
I did this process for a desk texture map. Before the green area was red. Now in Unity, it is this green. I also did some curve altering.
The original look of assets inside.
After alteration.
Practice

Stay tuned for the emission lighting article next. Have a great day!

--

--