Creating a Sci-Fi Lab Room in Unity 3D

Thomas Mauro
5 min readAug 19, 2022

--

After the Space Shooter project was done it was time to dive into Unity 3d and build my first room. This is a control room, but you can see and call it what you please. I started working on it, making some short videos of my progress and taking screenshots. Up to this point, I have the floor, walls, ceiling, columns and archways, doorway, floating monitor supports, a platform with stairs, and sci-fi-style decorations. I went back many times to do some fine-tuning. More can still be done such as some ceiling struts. I left those out for now as I haven’t decided on a design and would like the room to be larger before that. The good news is I know how to do it after learning this. The important thing is I continue learning.

  • Floors and Walls

The floors and walls were fun to do. I used assets from filebase. Some tiles are just as is and some I did a bit of editing with multiple floor/wall assets in order to produce a unique-looking tile. Once I had some basic designs going I built a basic floor and wall set up.

Circled areas are unedited original tiles.

Wall design form multiple assets. Here is an example of a simple way to use multiple prefabs that are different, resized them, or even reshape, combine and make a new prefab design.

  • The ceiling
Long story short, this is the ceiling.

Just like the floor the ceiling also has some original assets and some unique ones made from multiple. I have multiple ties, some pillars, vents, and pipes.

You got the gist of it.
  • Columns and Archways
Front of entryway/archway
Back of entryway/archway

Just like the floors, walls, and ceiling, these are comprised of multiple assets. Reshaped, resized, and slapped together to make an entryway never seen by any eyes across all dimensions! LOL.

  • Columns

For these columns, I used original prefabs from filebase and altered the size slightly.

Again, you got the gist of it.
  • Doorway and Entryway walls

This doorway was very simple. I used an original asset from filebase and just made it a bit larger. For the entryway wall, I did the same thing as the rest thus far as usual. Check out the breakdown.

Back view
  • Hanging Monitor Supports and Platform with Stairs

The supports I made seem to be unique compared to others I've seen for better or worse, for now, this is the first hanging monitor support thing I ever tried to make. It was made from assets from filebase and they were reshaped and sized accordingly. The platform was made from floor and wall style parts and some stairs from the firebase that I resized as needed. I will also show the decorations like floating monitors, desks with computers and computer terminals, test tubes, and a couple of mechs.

The stairs and platforms are pretty simple. Just some tiles and stairs to fit and some walls on the sides.

A closer view of the hanging monitor supports.

Below the gif will show the decorations within the room like desks and terminals etc.

  • Colliders

Colliders are required to allow a third and first-person character to walk around. Otherwise, they will go through everything.

I made colliders for the walls, floor, stairs, platform, and ceiling. There are also box colliders on all the decorations and columns. This is a fairly simple but very fun process. Easy to learn so please refer to documentation or videos.

Outline of colliders in the environment.

Walkthrough in third person pov.

--

--