I’m Revamping My Newsletters

And I’m not sparing any part of them

Teresa Colón
4 min readJul 30, 2019

Frequent readers know that I recently went through all my email accounts and conducted a deep spring cleaning. At the time, I had cleared out 16,000 emails. Now, I’ve gone through nearly 50,000.

In the process, I discovered that I’m subscribed to a shocking number of newsletters. So many, in fact, just reading them would be a full-time job for me.

That’s unsustainable. I had to find a way to separate the wheat from the chaff, and then keep just the good stuff.

It Started Innocently…

The first thing I did was to use Unroll.me to capture and consolidate most of the marketing newsletters I receive every day. Instead of receiving 25+ individual emails, I get a single email that combines all those into a simple-to-scan solo email. When something catches my eye, I simply click through to see the entire email.

It’s magical, although it only works for my Gmail address.

For everything else, I created a rule in Outlook to tag the emails with a “Newsletter” or “Marketing” category and move them into my “To Read” folder. The plan is to go through that folder once a week to stay abreast of what’s going on.

…And Then I Got a Wake Up Call

--

--

Teresa Colón

Mom & knitter. Passionate about mental health & helping people feel better. The names are changed; the stories are real. Learn more at woundedbirdsministry.com.