The Duality of Thinking

Accepting that opposing ideas both can be true changes our worldview

Teresa Colón
4 min readDec 3, 2018

I’ve had some conversations with people lately that have me thinking a lot about our thought patterns and the impact of sound bites upon them.

I spent a year taking a class called “Dialectical Behavioral Therapy” (DBT). Pioneered by Marsha Linehan, DBT explores our rigid thinking and helps us consider alternatives.

At the core of DBT is an idea that opposite ideas can both be true at the same time. Here’s an example from my mental health recovery:

I know that I am doing the best I can. I work hard, use my skills, and I’m diligent about attending my therapy sessions.

AND…

I know I can do better, try harder, and be more effective.

Both of these statements are true. I am doing my best, and I know that I have more room to grow. Saying that I am doing my best allows me to have compassion for myself in my mistakes. Recognizing that I can do better gives me room to grow and develop.

[Dialectical thinking] is deeply uncomfortable because we are suddenly challenging all our previously-held notions.

When we acknowledge that opposing ideas may both be true, we move into a new realm of thinking…

--

--

Teresa Colón

Mom & knitter. Passionate about mental health & helping people feel better. The names are changed; the stories are real. Learn more at woundedbirdsministry.com.