Have You Ever Believed You Were a Stoic and Not Have Full Knowledge of What a Stoic Is?

T. M. Watson
2 min readMar 18, 2023

Here’s a look at the basics of Stoicism.

a man with a beard holding a book
Photo by Lance Reis on Unsplash

I practice stoic philosophy. As a human being, you may have emotions, but these don’t need to affect your soul. The two are not one.

Daphne Guinness

I seriously believed when a person is stoic, they were ‘highly educated’ with a belief and determination to always ‘do the right thing.’

Whatever triggered the thought a few days ago, I had to prove myself right or wrong. So, of course, I researched and looked it up.

Apparently, I was a little off-base.

Stoicism is a philosophical school that originated in ancient Greece and Rome. Its teachings have influenced many thinkers throughout history.

The Stoics believed in four main ideas.

First, the only thing truly valuable is virtue. Virtue means living a life guided by reason and moral principles.

Second, emotions were believed to be a result of our judgments about events.

Therefore, the Stoics argued that we have control over our emotions and should cultivate a calm and rational mind.

--

--

T. M. Watson

Writer, author, researcher on self-preservation. I love good coffee & meaningful, heartfelt conversation. Buy me a coffee@ https://ko-fi.com/tmwatson