4 ways the iPad gets me into productive work

Tobias Hedtke
4 min readJan 15, 2023
Photo by Ern Gan on Unsplash

With some tasks, especially unpleasant or very intensive tasks, there is this inner barrier that needs to be overcome to avoid procrastination and get into productive work. I experience this regularly, but the versatility of the iPad helps me to get into productive work and avoid falling into the gorge of procrastination. I work from the 12.9-inch iPad Pro with the Magic Keyboard and, when I‘m on the go, I have the 6th-generation iPad mini with me. Here is, how these devices became my productivity boosters.

1. Keeping the entry barrier low

The iPad is a device that is constantly around me — either my 12.9-inch iPad Pro or the iPad mini when I’m out and about without carrying my whole tech EDC with me. I also keep my iPads always on and running. Often, certain tasks cost me a lot of energy to get started with. Somehow, I try to increase my motivation for these tasks for which I tested some methods over the last year that often helped me to avoid trapping in procrastination. For this, it is crucial to keep the entry barrier low, i.e. a small gain in motivation should be enough to get started with the least effort necessary to accomplish starting your work. And for this, it is very handy to have a device around, that is ready by the press of a button.

--

--

Tobias Hedtke

Scientist, entrepreneur, and tech enthusiast from Germany, writing about Apple tech, productivity, and start-up entrepreneurship