National Museum — Eight artworks

Trisha Tobias
4 min readFeb 12, 2016

--

VISITING THE NATIONAL MUSEUM — February 12, 2016

The eight artworks that caught my eye…

SPOLARIUM by Juan Luna

The title of this painting is “Spolarium” by Juan Luna and it was painted using oil on canvas on 1884. This painting of Juan Luna attracted me because it’s a famous art and it was the first painting when we entered the National Museum. It was so huge that I can’t even imagine on how did Juan Luna painted this. For me, the painting means suffering and cruelty. While watching the film Heneral Luna, it was shown there that the Filipinos treated other Filipinos as their enemies and they want them to suffer. The film showed a scene where they portrayed the painting but it was different since it was in the Philippines.

NAIAD by Jose T. Joya

The title of this painting is “Naiad” by Jose T. Joya and it was painted using oil on panel on 1964. This painting of Jose Joya attracted me because it looks different among the other paintings. It’s an abstract painting and I loved how it was designed. I may not know the message of this painting but it really got me on how it was put all together. It’s like layers of shades of red paint that was conjoined.

HORSESHOE DRIVE by Pacita Abad

The title of this painting is “Horseshoe Drive” by Pacita Abad and it was painted using oil on canvas on 1983. I love how the painting put all the colors together. It shows nature-loving and it relaxes the mind because of the sea, the grass and plants, and the sky.

SUNSET IN INTRAMUROS by Frederico Aguilar-Alcuaz

The title of this painting is “Sunset in Intamuros” by Frederico Aguilar-Alcuaz and it was painted using oil on board on 1979. This painting caught my eye because I love sunsets and I love Intramuros since I’ve been there. Intramuros is a famous place to go when you visit Manila. It has a museum inside about Jose Rizal and it’s really nice to go there just to know the history behind it. Going to Intramuros is a must because it’s a beautiful place and you will explore and know more about what happened there when the Spaniards took over the Philippines.

UNDER THE MANGO TREE by Fernando Amorsolo

The title of this painting is “Under The Mango Tree” by Fernando Amorsolo and it was painted using oil on canvas on 1935. Fernando Amorsolo is one of my favorite artists since I love paintings with a scenery of farms, fruits, simple living, rural area, etc. In this painting, it shows that these people are gathering mango. I just love this painting because it’s simple and it shows socialization towards each other.

INETERIOR D’ UN CAFÉ (The Parisian Life) by Juan Luna

The title of this painting is “Interior D’ Un Cafe” by Juan Luna and it was painted using oil on canvas on 1892. Interior D’ Un Café means “Inside a Café” I love relaxing inside of cafes and I love looking at this painting of Juan Luna. It looks elegant and it shows simplicity of a woman who dresses nicely.

RAIN AND STORM by Emilio Aguilar Cruz

The title of this painting is “Rain and Storm” by Emilio Aguilar Cruz and it was painted using oil on canvas on 1991. I loved how the colors mixed well in this painting of Emilio Aguilar Cruz. The blending of that green, blue, and yellow colors go well. The painting shows that the are is flooded and there’s one kubo that is flashed by the stream of water.

CITY SCENE (QUIAPO PROCESSION) by Emilio Aguilar Cruz

The title of this painting is “City Scene (Quiapo Procession)” by Emilio Aguilar Cruz and it was painted using oil on canvas on 1977. This painting of Emilio Aguilar Cruz shows that the city is busy. Like the Metro Manila traffic today, it caught my eye since it’s like an ordinary day where there’s a lot of cars, a lot of commercial buildings everywhere, a lot of busy people, and many more. I’ve been to Quiapo and I must say that it’s really traffic there. As the painting says “Quaipo Procession” maybe it’s a long line of cars, or you must say a procession of cars.

Proof of visit (Feb. 12, 2016)

I enjoyed staying and appreciating art in the National Museum. I want to go to more museums to reflect and to know more about art. :)

--

--