No 3D printer? You can still build a case for that circuit board!

Todd Gillies
3 min readJan 26, 2023

--

So, you’ve come to the end of your hardware development project, and now you’re wondering about how to encase the whole thing. Perhaps, like me, you have a tiny MPU-6050 (accelerometer and gyroscope), now connected to breadboard, dangling from a tiny connector:

Look at all those tiny components on the chip — it’s like a small city! How can I use something this fragile in my embedded hardware solution?

Bunches of people build tiny super-fragile breadboard things like this, then post “Look what I built!” pictures online. What is rarely covered is the next step in the process — building or somehow creating a case or enclosure for what you’ve built.

Faced with this problem (with my MPU-6050 pictured above), I repeatedly Googled “homemade circuit board case” and variants thereof, but all I could find were recommendations to just 3D print a circuit board case. Not wanting to invest in a 3D printer for this one-time project (or have to learn all about CAD and 3D design), I instead decided to try and build something with Perler beads.

Perler beads (marketed here in Japan as “nano beads”) are awesome. I chose the smallest diameter size (2.5mm, I think), and also got a small pegboard (pictured below). The idea is that you assemble them into the shape you want (using the pegboard), then apply heat via a clothes iron. The beads all fuse together, leaving you with a rigid plastic plate.

A thousand ‘nano beads’ and a pegboard (about $8)

It took six such plates (about 250 individual Perler beads) to make an enclosure to fit my MPU-6050. The plates are pictured below. My idea was to stack the plates, then secure them together with screws and bolts (also pictured below):

These are the plates! If you put the MPU-6050 in the square bracket and stack the plates around it, it fits quite securely.

For those of you who prefer cartoon-ish pencil sketches over actual pictures, this is kind of how I stacked everything all up:

The stack!

In the end, the MPU-6050 fit perfectly into the Perler bead enclosure, and my project was complete, all for a total cost of about $10 (for the Perler beads, pegboard, and nuts & bolts). Hope this inspires you for your next hardware project! Know that there are alternatives to 3D printing, despite a lack of mentions online.

The enclosure, fully built and assembled.

--

--

Todd Gillies

Self-taught developer, active in programming since 2015.