A woman using an iPad to search the app store for a note-taking app
Original photo by Marek Levák on Unsplash

GoodNotes, Notability, Or Noteshelf: The Best Handwriting Notes App for iPad

Todd Hagler
15 min readAug 19, 2019

--

Choosing the Right Notes App for You

It is hard to choose the best handwriting notes apps for ipad. The quality of the writing experience with an Apple Pencil has given rise to dozens of apps on the app store. These apps can be expensive and with many similar features, it’s hard to decide which one is best for you.

I create digital planners, journals, and diaries for use with apps like GoodNotes, Notability, and Noteshelf that I sell on my Etsy shop. Since I work with many of the apps, I am often asked which is best. The answer depends on your personal preferences and how you take notes.

Here I compare three of my favorites. I hope this gives you a feel for which app is best for your note-taking needs.

The best three handwritten note-taking apps for the iPad, in my opinion.

My Favorite Hand-Written Notes Apps

GoodNotes is the best-known app for taking hand-written notes. It has been around for a while and released a major update with GoodNotes 5. Notability, another well-known app, has a strong following and adds audio recording to the mix. We’ll also look at another…

--

--

Todd Hagler

Strategic Marketer, Designer and Content Creator | Contributor to The Startup & Marketing And Growth Hacking