GRATITUDE WILL CHANGE YOUR DEFINITION OF REALITY.

Tofe Evans
4 min readFeb 9, 2018

When there are eight billion people in the world, we have to learn how to put the practice of gratitude into place to create empathy for others.

If you are going through some troubling times, don’t try blaming others. Instead, think about how it feels to live in their circumstances rather than feeling sorry for yourself or getting angry at someone. You could think to yourself, “I’m having a tough time right now, but it’s not all that bad compared to someone else’s problems.”

A perfect example is my friend, Damo, who lost sight in both eyes at a young age. I was fortunate to meet Damo via the running community and hear his story firsthand. The poor bastard lost his sight in both eyes due to two separate accidents.

He understands that you can’t reverse time, so he focuses on the present. If I’m ever having a bad day, I use the perspective of picturing myself in Damo’s shoes. I often wonder what it would be like waking up each morning, and even jumping in the shower or eating breakfast, without being able to see. Being blind would be such a challenge. With that mental perspective, I realise my day isn’t that bad.

I’ve learned that if you give back somehow — whether through a charity, a deed…

--

--