A Love letter to my Grandmother

Tolulope Henry-Onifade
2 min readDec 5, 2017

--

Courtesy of Laura Morelli

I was scrolling through old emails and stumbled upon a letter that I wrote to my grandmother after she passed. Tears stung my eyes as I read through this because it so accurately and succinctly depicts the person she was to me (words will never be enough).

In your memory grandma, this is my love letter to you.

Dear Grandma,

I remember how incredibly kind and generous you were in embodying all the definitions of love. Your radiance shone in spite of age and illness; that even in your death, your essence remains eternal and sure. You were infectious in vitality and your ambience consumed every gathering. Memories of you breathe in the snails and quail eggs you brought on your visits, and in the best cooking of ikokere & egusi in the entire realm. They linger in the stories you told: the true ones, the folk tales and the fabrications of your beautiful mind.

Your love endured in the heartfelt prayers you often bestowed: they surely touch God’s eardrums. How could they not? You were a vessel of love after all.

Your commitment abode in your dedication to faith. From your pilgrimage to Mecca and to your devotion to Christ, you were always an inspiration. Ah grandma, you were our lawyer in the court of Daddy and Mummy.

I miss you; I miss the covering of your hugs and the privilege of your presence. But rest assured that your culinary prowess lives in me; relax in God’s bosom knowing that your great grand children will hear about you and all the beautiful things you are. You are unforgettable and endless.

I love you,

Tolu

--

--