My Top 5 Reasons Why the iMac Is Actually the Perfect Mac

The new iMac 24" was released a year and a half ago, but no one seems to have noticed.

Tom Athos
CodeX
7 min readOct 16, 2022

--

Photo by Norbert Levajsics on Unsplash

What is an iMac

iMac is the epitome of the “perfect” Mac. It has everything you could ask for in an all-in-one computer: great design, top performance, a wide range of features and software, and the ability to grow with your needs as you grow as an individual. No wonder it has been the standard bearer for home computers for almost 20 years. However, like most perfect things, some small problems prevent it from being the best computer you can get.

If you have an office and want a computer that everyone can use, then this could be your answer.

Here are my top 5 reasons why the iMac is the perfect Mac.

Firstly, I still own an Intel iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2019). I don’t see the need to upgrade to a new 24-inch iMac because everything just works on my current machine. But there are days when I read things about the new iMac, look at reviews, go to the store and try it out (repeatedly), tell myself that I don’t need it even though I’d like to have it, etc. I think many of you understand this state of mind.

Below, I will write my take on the new 24-inch iMac, which is basically not that different from previous models. In fact, there are many things in common.

It’s affordable

The new 24-inch iMac is a very affordable computer, all things considered. In the box, you get an all-in-one Mac with an M1 processor, a beautiful screen, a keyboard, and a mouse. All this is for $1299 (on Apple’s official site) for the base model. But I don’t recommend the base model. For $200 more you get an 8-core GPU (instead of 7), 2 extra USB 3 ports, gigabit ethernet (trust me, you’ll want that, don’t just rely on wi-fi), and Apple’s Magic Keyboard with Touch ID.

Considering all that, let’s face it, the new 24-inch iMac costs $1499. You don’t want a basic model with only two connectors (why, Apple, why?) and no ethernet. Furthermore, in my opinion, there should be a magic keyboard with a touch ID in the base model. It is unclear to me why Apple has chosen to go down this route, but that’s the way it is. Just avoid the base model.

Nevertheless, the 24-inch iMac is still an extremely affordable computer. But that’s not all.

It looks great

Design-wise, it’s one of the most beautiful computers on the market, even compared to previous iMac models. iMac 24-inch is very minimalistic and clean-looking. The chassis itself is extremely thin, so you wonder how they fit all these components in it.

It comes in seven different colors, but only four are available in the base model. So if you like the base model but want a yellow, orange, or purple iMac, you’ll pay $200 more just for the color. Again, don’t ask yourself why. I have no logical explanation for this. Are those three colors more expensive? I think that, again, this is their almost perfect marketing strategy.

But the biggest and most visually appealing feature of the 24-inch iMac is its 4.5K Retina display. If you’ve ever owned a previous iMac with a Retina display, you’ll know what I mean. The crystal-clear, pin-sharp, pixel-free display is so great, you’ll have trouble with monitors that aren’t as good. And there are only a few on the market with a very high price tag.

Remember what you get with an iMac. At least half the price is the display itself, but you get a lot more than that.

Photo by Ishtiaq Khan Parag on Unsplash

It’s a pro desktop computer

As mentioned earlier, the iMac is a 24″ all-in-one computer with an ultra-slim chassis. But that doesn’t make the iMac a professional desktop computer. In addition to a great display, this slim chassis also includes a sound system with six speakers. It delivers an incredible sound experience, so most people won’t need external speakers. I’m comparing it to my current 27-inch iMac, and this six-speaker system just adds to it. The surround system is much better, but that is to be expected given the number of speakers.

For many of today’s video conferencing services or for use with FaceTime, the iMac has a 1080p HD camera that works with the M1 chip and delivers good enough video quality and extra features for any potential video caller.

For video calls, podcasts, or recording, iMac 24″ also comes with three studio-quality microphones.

If you don’t choose the base model, you’ll get 4 ports on the back of the iMac. For some, that’s still not enough. I have enough ports on my 27″ iMac, and I’m sure there will be enough on the 24″. If not, I can use a USB adapter.

There is also a keyboard and mouse in the box. I like Apple’s keyboard, but I could never get used to their mouse. It’s so uncomfortable for me that I still use a Logitech one, which works great with Macs.

It runs most apps

Like previous iMac models, the 24-inch iMac runs most applications on the latest M1 chip (there’s already talk of an iMac with an M3 chip). Plus, the M1 chip can do so much more with less power and, in particular, less RAM. My current iMac is still the Intel version with 24 GB of RAM, and it still suits me, but I am certain that the time will come for the M architecture.

I had the opportunity to test the base model with 8 GB of RAM and I can tell you that you can open many apps, Safari tabs, video calling, and photo editing without any problems. I have not tried video editing, but I am sure it is capable of simple home video editing without any issues.

The latest iMac already uses the M chip, so I think it’s future-proof for a while yet. In any case, more so than my current Intel iMac. I expect that some applications will one day not be compatible with Intel Macs or even macOS. Some features in the latest macOS already don’t work on Intel Macs, like portrait mode in FaceTime, and I’m sure there will be more to come.

It has a longer lifespan

I’m convinced that iMacs are built to last. With built-in hardware and software updates lasting over 7 years (and security updates, so I can expect to use a Mac for at least about 10 years), it’s safe to say that the price is good value for what we get. With a display of this quality, for example, you won’t need a better display for years. You’ll also be using the latest macOS for a long time to come, and it will work seamlessly with all other Apple devices.

Photo by Charles Patterson on Unsplash

Other Mac alternatives to an iMac

But it is an all-in-one computer. I’m not a demanding user, so I use my iMac for all my day-to-day tasks and anything else I require for extra work. I don’t just use it for professional photo or video editing, audio production, or things like that, which would require extra power from the computer.

In this case, I’d opt for a different Mac, as a Mac Mini for desktop, and maybe combine it with a Studio Display, external speakers, and a keyboard and mouse that suit your needs. If you require a portable machine, I’d go for a 14- or 16-inch MacBook Pro (M2 chip expected soon).

I think the Mac Studio or Mac Pro is really for some extreme power users who require the most powerful machine, but they’re definitely not for most people.

Conclusion

iMac is perfect for putting on your desk, powering on, and ready to work with macOS. You get a lot of Mac for the price, just make sure you have enough storage (or plan to store your documents, photos, and videos on an external drive or NAS device).

If you’re a regular user, 8 GB of RAM is more than enough. I wouldn’t spend money on it, but unless you plan to keep this iMac for a long time, then it might be wise to upgrade it with some extra power to make it more future-ready.

If I had to buy a new Mac right now, I’d go for a 24-inch iMac that isn’t the base model, although it’s a bit smaller than what I have now. As for the RAM, I’d take 16 GB (for the future) and 256 GB of storage (I use a NAS to store all my files, so I’ve still got plenty of storage on my iMac). The Mac Mini is tempting, too, but I’ve gotten so used to that 5k Retina display that I’d miss it, and Studio Display is a bit expensive, even though it’s not just a monitor.

To sum up, that’s why I think the iMac is the perfect Mac for most who want a desktop that looks impressive and works easily. It is just there, and you can easily do all your daily tasks with it, but somehow I feel that the 24-inch iMac is not noticeable enough for people. Maybe some people find it too small (compared to the 27-inch iMac) and are waiting for a bigger one, but there are many rumors that it won’t be. I own a 27-inch iMac, but 24 inches is almost the perfect size for the average user. Occasionally, I feel that 27″ is almost too big, and I don’t need that much space. I’d rather choose a second screen if necessary, or use universal control with my MacBook Air.

Thank you for reading. Always appreciated.

Originally published at https://www.tomathosblog.com on October 16, 2022.

--

--

Tom Athos
CodeX

Technology enthusiast, musician, teacher.